Time for Reflection: Race and Ethnicity

June 28, 2013

Brian’s comments about the finish of his grant in Uganda echo my own, but are said much more eloquently than I can pen for the moment.

Journeys in Peace Journalism

After ten months, 300 days, and thousands of moments and experiences, I am no longer a Fulbright Student. Although I extended my stay in Uganda for two more months, my grant period officially ended on May 30th. So a few weeks ago, I finally got around to filling out the Fulbright Final Report.

Explain in 1,000 characters or less what you’ll take away from the Fulbright experience.

This was one of the questions I had to answer.

But how do you distill a year’s worth of experiences abroad? How do you sift through the memories—the good and the bad, the moments of victory and annoyance? How do you remember the hundreds of people who made an impact on your life—many of whom you can never repay?

In 1,000 characters, it is impossible. It will take me years to reflect on my time in Uganda and to realize…

View original post 1,303 more words

Leave a Reply

Wiersema.David

up up down down left right left right B A

Journeys in Peace Journalism

Exploring Uganda's Media

alaskanadventureswithalex

Alex Heckaman's Adventures in Alaska 2013

Lauren in Uganda

My journey as a Fulbright Research Fellow in Kampala, Uganda

Tipa tipa n'apprive

little by little we move forward

Stirling Design Associates, LLC

Welcome! Let's get started on design.

Consistently Contradictory

Do I contradict myself? / Very well then I contradict myself, / (I am large, I contain multitudes.)

NAINews

North American Interfaith Network News

Lauren Hamlin's Nature in Literature Blog

Forget not that the earth delights to feel your bare feet and the winds long to play with your hair. -Kahlil Gibran

Some Birds Aren’t Meant to be Caged

A little girl with big dreams spreads her wings and learns to fly.

Mokdong Magpie

expanding my horizons

A Traveler's Tale

photography and travel interests, places, and things

TED Blog

The TED Blog shares interesting news about TED, TED Talks video, the TED Prize and more.

Uwitware's Picks

My world, my thoughts, my aspirations...

Traveling Teacart

A collection of tales from a young vagabond in India

kate on the road

stories from the life of a modern day nomad

sojourn in south africa

sojourn: (v) to stay or dwell in a place for a short period of time

