Kids Say the Darndest Things…

November 23, 2012

Today, I have finished teaching both my units here at INATEK. There were many failures as well as some bright moments. Next week, I will continue to work in the Language Center, hopefully tutoring TOEFL, performing research and creating an English Club. Most of my students seem excited to continue practicing their English speaking and writing skills and I hope our new activities go over well on campus.

Writing proved to be an interesting challenge for many students. As in any writing, my students had their mistakes as they tried very hard to express themselves well. Below are a some of the more amusing excerpts from some of the essays, tests, and class discussions. Enjoy!

“Education for all is a program of Rwanda to make children 12 years for free”

“Drug Diller like cheaper drugs like marijuana”

“When I go to the USA, I want to see a tomb of Martin Luther King Jr. and a tomb of 2Pac.”

In a formal business letter: “How are you Minister of Education? I am Ok.”

From our friend who normally speaks English well: “It has been too long. We miss you gays!”

In a discussion for an evening class:

Teacher: What is an occupation or a job? Give me an example.

Student: Chooker!

Teacher: Wait what? A hooker? You know what a hooker is?

Student: A chooker!

Teacher: Wait, a cooker? Like a chef?

Student: Yes, but what is a hooker?

“It help the people in smelling in photosynthesis the trees helps on it in that transformation of oxygen.”

“As women give birth involuntarily….”

“So, as conclusion, Rwanda has the good climate, temperature are moderate, the rain fall is enough, so it is the best of the best country.”

One Response to “Kids Say the Darndest Things…”

  1. Lyla Kirsch Says:

    Dearest Katie, we love your blogs, and read between the lines, and know it must now be easy, but, are so very proud of all you are doing! How about your living conditions? And your roommate, is that all good? We sent a padded package to you in Rwanda, Christmas gifts, but wrote reading materials on it……do hope you will get it…….just had the kids here for Thaksgiving, and then heading out to Santa Barabara for Christmas ………love and miss you! Aunt Lyla


Leave a Reply

Wiersema.David

up up down down left right left right B A

Journeys in Peace Journalism

Exploring Uganda's Media

alaskanadventureswithalex

Alex Heckaman's Adventures in Alaska 2013

Lauren in Uganda

My journey as a Fulbright Research Fellow in Kampala, Uganda

Tipa tipa n'apprive

little by little we move forward

Stirling Design Associates, LLC

Welcome! Let's get started on design.

Consistently Contradictory

Do I contradict myself? / Very well then I contradict myself, / (I am large, I contain multitudes.)

NAINews

North American Interfaith Network News

Lauren Hamlin's Nature in Literature Blog

Forget not that the earth delights to feel your bare feet and the winds long to play with your hair. -Kahlil Gibran

Some Birds Aren’t Meant to be Caged

A little girl with big dreams spreads her wings and learns to fly.

Mokdong Magpie

expanding my horizons

A Traveler's Tale

photography and travel interests, places, and things

TED Blog

The TED Blog shares interesting news about TED, TED Talks video, the TED Prize and more.

Uwitware's Picks

My world, my thoughts, my aspirations...

Traveling Teacart

A collection of tales from a young vagabond in India

kate on the road

stories from the life of a modern day nomad

sojourn in south africa

sojourn: (v) to stay or dwell in a place for a short period of time

