Arrival

September 9, 2012

After a long and tedious journey of two days, I have arrived in Kigali. I’m not quite sure how, but Kigali (and I’m hoping the rest of Rwanda) is even more green than Cameroon. I woke up at a quality 5:30 am to lovely worship songs in Ikinyarwanda as the Holy Day was celebrated throughout the city. Even though today was supposed to be spent resting up for a busy orientation on Monday, my fellow Fulbrighters and I couldn’t resist a little exploration. Most Rwandans apparently spend their Sundays at home as the city center was quite sleepy, but we still found plenty to see. Below are a few photos of this beautifully green and spacious capital city:ImageImageImageImage

4 Responses to “Arrival”

  1. Nancy Field Says:

    So happy and relieved to know you arrived safely and are ready to start your adventure. You’re right…the land looks beautiful. I love this blog so keep the photos and newsy stuff coming!
    Love you!
    Aunt Nan

  2. Deb Taylor Says:

    Glad you made it safely! What a beautiful country! I’m really looking forward to seeing it through your eyes and thoughts.
    AOT,
    Deb

  3. Abby Says:

    Keep posting! 🙂

  4. Valentino Says:

    I hope you are having good time in Rwanda 🙂


Leave a Reply

Wiersema.David

up up down down left right left right B A

Journeys in Peace Journalism

Exploring Uganda's Media

alaskanadventureswithalex

Alex Heckaman's Adventures in Alaska 2013

Lauren in Uganda

My journey as a Fulbright Research Fellow in Kampala, Uganda

Tipa tipa n'apprive

little by little we move forward

Stirling Design Associates, LLC

Welcome! Let's get started on design.

Consistently Contradictory

Do I contradict myself? / Very well then I contradict myself, / (I am large, I contain multitudes.)

NAINews

North American Interfaith Network News

Lauren Hamlin's Nature in Literature Blog

Forget not that the earth delights to feel your bare feet and the winds long to play with your hair. -Kahlil Gibran

Some Birds Aren’t Meant to be Caged

A little girl with big dreams spreads her wings and learns to fly.

Mokdong Magpie

expanding my horizons

A Traveler's Tale

photography and travel interests, places, and things

TED Blog

The TED Blog shares interesting news about TED, TED Talks video, the TED Prize and more.

Uwitware's Picks

My world, my thoughts, my aspirations...

Traveling Teacart

A collection of tales from a young vagabond in India

kate on the road

stories from the life of a modern day nomad

sojourn in south africa

sojourn: (v) to stay or dwell in a place for a short period of time

