Back to Kigali

May 7, 2013

Unfortunately due to some problems with our house, Olivia and I have had to move back to Kigali for the last 6 weeks (!!) of our contract. The move was quite abrupt and I was very sad to move from my home for the last 8 months. I will continue to work in Kigali on the literary journal and commute once a week to do some English program  training for the staff at INATEK and it was the right decision to make. Nevertheless,  it won’t be the same as living in Kibungo. Below, I’ve posted a few more pictures of the beautiful East Province.

The harvest celebration was put on by an NGO started by my good friend. Called ADAPT, it helps farmers transport their crops more efficiently and created a community-based loan system to fund the education of local children. Above, a member of the Rwanda  Development Board applauds the efforts of the farmers and ADAPT.

A harvest celebration was put on by an NGO started by my good friend. Called ADAPT, it helps farmers transport their crops more efficiently and created a community-based loan system to fund the education of local children. Above, a member of the Rwanda Development Board applauds the efforts of the farmers and ADAPT.

A pretty princess dressed up for the harvest celebration.

A pretty princess dressed up for the harvest celebration.

Fruits of  a season's labor in a newly constructed pavilion from ADAPT

Fruits of a season’s labor in a newly constructed pavilion from ADAPT

 

2 Responses to “Back to Kigali”


  1. Sorry you have to move. Hope it will works out to be nicer.


Leave a Reply

Wiersema.David

up up down down left right left right B A

Journeys in Peace Journalism

Exploring Uganda's Media

alaskanadventureswithalex

Alex Heckaman's Adventures in Alaska 2013

Lauren in Uganda

My journey as a Fulbright Research Fellow in Kampala, Uganda

Tipa tipa n'apprive

little by little we move forward

Stirling Design Associates, LLC

Welcome! Let's get started on design.

Consistently Contradictory

Do I contradict myself? / Very well then I contradict myself, / (I am large, I contain multitudes.)

NAINews

North American Interfaith Network News

Lauren Hamlin's Nature in Literature Blog

Forget not that the earth delights to feel your bare feet and the winds long to play with your hair. -Kahlil Gibran

Some Birds Aren’t Meant to be Caged

A little girl with big dreams spreads her wings and learns to fly.

Mokdong Magpie

expanding my horizons

A Traveller's Tale

photography and travel interests, places, and things

TED Blog

The TED Blog shares interesting news about TED, TED Talks video, the TED Prize and more.

Trudiz Picks

My world, my thoughts, my aspirations...

Traveling Teacart

A collection of tales from a young vagabond in India

africanwannabe

My journey through Peace Corps in Rwanda

kate on the road

stories from the life of a modern day nomad

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 44 other followers

